Connect with us


China Grants Visa-Free Entry To Swiss Citizens To Boost Bilateral Relations




China and Switzerland have reached an agreement to mutually ease visa requirements, showcasing their commendable reciprocity.

As part of this bilateral agreement, China has announced that Swiss citizens will now have the privilege of entering the country without a visa. In return, Switzerland has committed to facilitating visas for Chinese citizens and businesses investing in their nation.

During their discussions, Chinese Premier Li Qiang and Swiss Confederation President Viola Amherd jointly declared this decision, emphasizing their shared commitment to enhancing people-to-people exchanges.

This commitment is particularly significant as both countries look forward to celebrating the 75th anniversary of their diplomatic relations next year.

This announcement comes ahead of a gathering of influential business leaders and policymakers in Davos, where Premier Li Qiang is expected to be a distinguished guest.

China’s Visa Policy Shift: Granting Swiss Citizens Visa-Free Access

In a notable development, China has recently implemented changes to its visa policies, making entry more accessible for citizens from several countries.

A particularly significant move is the decision to grant Swiss citizens visa-free access, signaling a diplomatic and practical stride by China.

Notably, Beijing had previously announced a permanent exemption from visa requirements for citizens from Thailand, effective from March of this year.

In addition to these visa relaxations, both China and Switzerland have affirmed their commitment to strengthening bilateral ties across various domains.

The Chinese foreign ministry has conveyed its preparedness to facilitate the resumption of exchanges at all levels and in diverse fields, emphasizing the mutual interest in fostering closer relations.

Which countries do Switzerland citizens need to apply for an e-visa?

The following 18 countries require Switzerland nationals to apply for an electronic visa (eVisa) before traveling. An eVisa is a digital visa that can be applied for online and, in most cases, sent to the applicant’s email. Processing times, fees, and validity may vary among different countries.

  • Azerbaijan
  • Benin
  • Bhutan
  • Congo (Dem. Rep.)
  • Côte d’Ivoire (Ivory Coast)
  • Djibouti
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Gabon
  • Guinea
  • India
  • Iran
  • Kenya
  • Myanmar
  • Nigeria
  • Papua New Guinea
  • South Sudan
  • Uganda
  • Vietnam

Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA) Countries for Switzerland Citizens

Switzerland passport holders are eligible to obtain an Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA) prior to visiting the following 13 countries. An eTA is a digital travel document required for eligible travelers who are visa-exempt for a specific country, and it can be obtained online prior to travel.

  • American Samoa
  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Guam
  • New Zealand
  • Norfolk Island
  • Northern Mariana Islands
  • Pakistan
  • Puerto Rico
  • South Korea
  • Sri Lanka
  • United States of America
  • US Virgin Islands

Pakistani Gamer ‘Arslan Siddique’ Secures Victory In Tekken World Tour Finals 2023

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *